The Indian team has earned nine penalty corners but utilised only just two with Harman Preet permute the hosts eighth set piece in the 66th minute to string a last four berth. Indians looked completely off-colour in the opening half. There were mushy mistakes while confining and releasing the ball during the first half. Spain came out with a good tight defensive structure and reckon on man marking to stop attacking Indians. Spain then took the lead in the 22nd minute through penalty corner conversion much to the stunned silence of the cohort crowd. 

In the four minutes into second half, Spain almost extended their lead but curator Vikas Dahiya came to his side's rescue to deny Serrahima. The Indian team continued to attack but goals dodge them as Spanish goalkeeper Perez came up with a double save to deny Armaa Qureshi first and then Manpreet from the glance. In the last 10 minutes, India got four more penalty corners and the penultimate one was eventually converted by Harman Preet to take the lead for the first time in the match. It was a tense last couple of minutes for the hosts as they were reduced to 10 men after Armaan was shown yellow card for an unnecessary tackle.

Taaza Vaartha

Get latest online news, taaza, breaking news updates, political, business, entertainment, movies, music, national, international, state news.

Post A Comment: