Wasim Jaffer became the first batsman to reach the milestone of 10,000 runs in the Ranji Trophy during his knock for Vidarbha on Day 2’s play against Bengal. This is the first time the five-digit mark has been breached in the 81-year history of India’s premier domestic cricket competition.

He perished for 9 runs on the day, but his knack of being a run-scoring machine for almost twenty years has now made him the holder of a unique record in Indian domestic cricket. No other batsman is remotely close to have reached or to be reaching 10,000 runs in the tournament.

Jaffer scored most of his runs for Mumbai from 1996 to 2015, before being forced to move to Vidarbha this season. The 37-year-old has given a decent showing for Vidarbha as well.

It is likely that Jaffer will hold the record of being the only 10,000-run batsman in Ranji Trophy for the immediate future as well. Mithun Manhas is the only currently playing batsman who is close to Jaffer’s tally of runs, but is unlikely to close the deficit of more than 2,000 runs in his remaining days.
Legends such as Sachin Tendulkar (4281 Ranji runs) and VVS Laxman (5764 Ranji runs) have comparatively modest places in the Ranji Trophy’s hall of fame owing to India commitments.

The legend of Wasim Jaffer

In November 1996, playing only his second match at the age of 18, Jaffer had burst into the spotlight with his 314* for Mumbai. He had earned his first Test cap by 2000, but could never manage to cement his place in the India team. After 31 Tests, he only has an average of 34 to show at the international level.

Jaffer eventually lost out to Gautam Gambhir for the opener’s slot from 2006 onwards, but continued to pile up runs in the domestic circuit. His status as a legend without par in Indian domestic cricket has been carved in stone with this newest feat.

Jaffer also has the record of most individual centuries in the Ranji Trophy – 35. He is also the leading run-getter in Duleep Trophy and Irani Trophy – the two other traditional cornerstones in India’s domestic circuit.

Highest scorers in Ranji Trophy:

Wasim Jaffer – 10,002*
Amol Muzumdar – 9202
Hrishikesh Kanitkar – 8059
Mithun Manhas – 8047*
Devendra Bundela – 7971*

© sportskeeda

Taaza Vaartha

Get latest online news, taaza, breaking news updates, political, business, entertainment, movies, music, national, international, state news.

Post A Comment: