The election for the office bearers of the South Indian Film Artists Association which is commonly known as Nadigar Sangam was conducted yesterday and Pandavar Ani comprising of actors Nasser, Vishal, Karthi, Ponvannan and Karunas have defeated their opponents. Nasser who stood for President got 1,334 votes and defeated Sarathkumar who got 1,231 votes.

Actor Vishal had contested for the post of General Secretary and had 1,445 votes in his favour. He defeated Radharavi who had received 1,138 votes. Actor Karthi who stood for the Treasurer post defeated S.S.R.Kannan. Karthi got 1,384 votes while Kannan could get 1,031 votes only.

The polling took place in a private school in Chennai. A press meet was conducted after the declaration of the results and Vishal conveyed his thanks to Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J.Jayalalitha, the police force and the election officers. President-elect Nasser assured to bring out positive changes in the Nadigar Sangam activities. 

Vishal suffered injuries on right hand when he tried to rescue actress Sangeetha from current Nadigar Sangam President Sarath Kumar who tried to hit her, reports said. 
Speaking to media, Sangeetha said that Vishal was attacked by members belonging to Sarath Kumar's camp. 

However, another report said Vishal was injured when he tried to block the fans who rushed to see Sangeetha when she came to cast her vote.

The contest is between the Pandavar Ani led by Vishal and the official panel led by Sarath Kumar. Almost all the actors cast their votes to elect various office-bearers. Superstar Rajinikanth and actor Vijay were early birds to cast their votes.

Tight police security was in place as people thronged the venue to catch a glimpse of their favourite actors.


Taaza Vaartha

Get latest online news, taaza, breaking news updates, political, business, entertainment, movies, music, national, international, state news.

Post A Comment: